What are Calssic mode authentication and claim based authentication ?

In SharePoint 2010 there are mainly two types of authentication mode. Classic Mode and Claim Based authentication. There are few differences between these two authentication mode. One can be used as a windows authentication and other one can used as windows and form authentication both.

In SharePoint 2010 while creating a web application it will first asked for authentication type.

There will be two option to choose.

  • Classic Mode Authentication

  • Claim Based Authentication

Lets start with Classic Mode Authentication:

1.)Classic Mode:

This is just a windows authentication. This authentication type can not be applicable for form based authentication. It means it will accept windows login details.

2.)Claim Based Authentication:

By using claim based authentication in SharePoint 2010 web application, we can enable forms and windows authentication.

After creating web application in SharePoint 2010, if a user wants to change the authentication type, then user can change it by using power-shell command.

Type below command one by one and press enter:

  • $app = get-spwebapplication

  • $app.useclaimsauthentication = "True"

  • $app.Update()

By programmatically a user can know whether claim based authentication is being used for a particular web application or not by using this property:


--Kindly provide your feedback on this article--


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: