WCF for beginners

WCF For Beginners

Windows Communication Foundation.

WCF Means:

WCF is a dedicated Communication Framework Provided by Microsoft.

NameSpace for WCF: System.Service Model.

WCF Available in: .Net 3.0


WCF Provides the runtime Environment which enables us to expose our CLR Types as Serives.
WCF Consumes other Existing Services as CLR Types.

CLR Types Means:


Creating and Consuming WCF Service:

There are 3 Steps Involved in this process

a)Creating Service
b)Bind the address to the service and host
c)Consuming the Service.

Creating Service:

Actually the Services exposed as Contracts.
Contract means describing what it does.

There are 4 Type of contracts are there

-Service Contract.
-Data Contarct.
-Fault Contract.
-Message Contarct.

Service Contarct:

This Contarct tells about the available operations that client can perform on this service.

Data Contarct:

This Contarct describes about the Data Types that are passed to the Service(both "In "and "Out").

Fault Contarct:

This Contarct is used to describe the error raised in service.

Message Contarct:

This Contarct having direct contorl over SOAP Structure.


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: